Read my lehapz

October 26 2010

sure, it’s been a long and tough year so far, but we’re almost done. anyway, trying to spot out the good things… something really surprising to me, which I just realized: I’ve been reading a lot. even more surprising: it’s about one year or more since I don’t read any technical book. gosh! that’s really great news! (you know, when you’re addicted..)

so, here’s an handful of book which have been filling my travelling by public transports, while going back and forth to customer office. sorry, it’s mainly an italian book list.

first, thanks to Matteo for a birthday gift, I discovered Jonathan Coe and then read the complete novel bibliography: “La banda dei brocchi”, “Circolo chiuso”, “La famiglia Winshaw”, “Donna per caso”, “L’amore non guasta”, “Questa notte mi ha aperto gli occhi”, “La casa del sonno”, “La pioggia prima che cada”, and the latest novel “I terribili segreti di Maxwell Sim”. they’re all great, Coe is visionary talented writer. really recommended the “trilogy” about contemporary UK history (70′, 80′, 90′) – the first three cited books.

first prize goes to Luther Blissett “Q”, a 600-pages historical novel about Protestant Reformation in the 16th century. this took me just a few weeks to read, because I could not stop reading! writing is incredible, mixing novel with diary pages, battle histories and quasi-original letters. I was astonished when I first understood everything’s almost really happened.

a few crime novels, for those who love crime movies and fictions like me (Davide, I know you’re out there!). I enjoyed reading Kristina Ohlsson “Indesiderata”, a swedish novel about police department working on missing children cases, set in Stocholm. funny enough, I was just back from Stocholm when I started reading (even if I bought the book before planning any travelling there!), so I felt like I was really investingating, moving across those districts and islands. then, Santo Piazzese “Trilogia di Palermo”, a collection of novels set in Palermo with a continous jazz and blues soundtrack playing: yep, you could hear it. simple and nice was Giorgio Scerbanenco “L’antro dei filosofi”. finally, Patricia Cornwell “At Risk”, the only one in english in this list. well, not really “english”, since it’s full of american slangs and dialect idioms, I could hardly follow the reading!

then, a few introspecting and psychological novels. first, Alona Kimhi “La lettrice di Shelley”, a very very very nice story about a girl with affective diseases, her troubles and her artistic works, set in Israel (on my bag while travelling around Portugal). then, Mishima Yukio “Musica”, a diary written by a japanese psychoanalyst about a girl he was trying to help (“music” – which she could not “hear” no more – is the word she refers to while talking about libido). finally, Erri De Luca “Montedidio”, set in a popular distric in Naples, tells a story about a kid forced to grow up: his hard job as craftman, his falling in love and his hopes.

on my desk right now, Haruki Murakami “Norvegian Wood”: simply sweet. almost finished reading, it has awakened the desire in me to write: something I used to do ages ago.

well, considering this is less than a yearly report, did I say I’ve been reading a lot?! hope you could find any suggestion for your next book.

2 Responses to “Read my lehapz”

  1. Davide Says:

    I’m going to take a glance on them :-)

  2. Fabio Says:

    Good :)


Leave a Reply

